Change is difficult but I gotta do it

Starting rice cereal today. We’ll see how it goes. The only sustenance she’s ever had is breast milk – from me.  It feels a little strange to give her something other.

I find that every time we introduce something new, it’s a little tough for me and so I procrastinate. This happened when it was time to move Nora into her own room at night, time for us to start a bedtime routine, time to stop bouncing her on that exercise ball for hours in the middle of the night. She’s okay, she adjusts pretty quickly to new things, but I belabor the decision to make a change because I don’t want her to go through a hard time. I might just need to rip off the Band-Aid or have someone give me a very gentle and very loving shove (that’s you Kevin). Hopefully, I’ll gain more confidence and realize how resilient she is and how easily she adapts to new situations. I want Nora to be comfortable trying new things, to take some risks and to play. If I want to teach her not to fear change, I should practice this myself. Maybe the way to do that is to just do it. (Huh. I guess Nike really has something there.)

So, that’s what I’m going to do. Just do it. As soon as Nora wakes up from her nap, I’m going to give her rice cereal and we’ll take it from there. Maybe she’ll love it!

Oh, she’s waking up now.

Wish us luck!  

S-dog

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Change is difficult but I gotta do it

  1. Judith Zimmerman

    Good luck, Sara and Nora! I’m betting that she’ll like it, and it will be fun to join in feeding her. Congratulations on the move! You and Kevin have accomplished so much with ease. Much Love, Judy/Grammy

  2. Felix hated rice cereal and he never changed his mind! Once he was about seven months he really got into pureed pear though… Don’t worry if she’s not interested, she’ll start eating when she’s ready!

  3. How did it go, Sara?
    We haven’t done cereal but Alon is a banana FANATIC – in mashed or whole [aka fed to him out of one of our hands] form.

Leave a Reply

