May day blarg

It’s my birthday. Yup. 33 years old.

We’re all a little under the weather this week. The common cold: sore throat, runny nose, sneezing and coughing. It breaks your heart to hear a little baby cough. This is her first cold. And you can’t explain it to her – you feel yucky because you have a virus and your immune system is fighting it off. She seems to be on the other side of the thing — at least, I sure hope so.

Okay, I’m about to have a pity party for myself. A small one. It’ll be over soon, I promise.

Feel free to skip this paragraph entirely, or get out your tiny violins. I feel blarg (which is my word for tired, achy, hot and cold at the same time, runny, sore-of-nose, etc, etc, etc.) I did something weird to my back so that it hurts every time I cough and it’s kind of hard to pick Nora up. Oh, and it’s raining. Oh, and I wrote one whole draft of this post but somehow, it got erased when I hit “Save Draft” and I had to start over.

Whew. Glad that’s over.

Here’s the upside. If I take a good look at my life on this birthday, I have so much to be grateful for. I’m a mom now, and Nora is the cutest, silliest, sweetest little person I know. I’m married to a wonderful man and we have kickass family and friends. We live in a down to earth, beautiful place with great restaurants, mountains and the Hudson all around.

This morning, I ran the shower and Nora and I steamed ourselves in the bathroom to clear our sinuses.  She squeaked and grunted at me on the changing table. We’re taking it easy, watching a little TV, taking lots of naps. So, even though Nora and I feel blargy, I certainly have a lot to celebrate on this rainy birthday.

Namaste. (It felt appropriate to say this. I don’t know why, but I don’t question these things.) 🙂

8 Comments

Filed under Baby talk, Nyack, Parenting, Rockland County

8 responses to “May day blarg

  1. Judy

    Happy Birthday, Sara, and feel better wishes to both you and Nora! With love, Judy

  2. Happy birthday! And feel better, both of you!

  3. happy birthday! (you’re about five weeks older than me.) i hope you both feel better soon.

  4. Julia Kushnir

    Happy Birthday! When you feel better, lets celebrate!

Leave a Reply

