Nora gets her 2 month vaccines

This was a tough visit for Momma Sara. Yeah, I totally lost my cool.

Nora was in a good mood, very smiley and chatty on the exam table before the nurse came in. When we first brought her home from the hospital, she cried every time we changed her diaper, but she has come to be quite impartial to some QT time on a table. You’re naked, you’re face to face with Mommy and Daddy – what could be better? So, in the doctor’s office, she lay there in just a diaper, cooing and gurgling and pumping her arms and legs. Poor little Shmooples didn’t know what she was in for.  I tried to keep her calm and happy by rubbing her head and tickling her under her chin (an oldie but goodie).

I was doing okay hear babies screaming and crying in other rooms down the hall. What were they doing to those poor babies??? We could escape now. There was still time.

The nurse came in. It was our turn. I tried to hold it together. They gave her the first vaccine orally, and she was having none of it. She spit some of it back out and started crying. Then they put a needle in her right leg. She started to scream and her face turned bright red, like “Whoa, whoa, whoa. I didn’t like that at all!”

“Can I nurse her in here when this is done?” I asked.

“Sure you can,” the nurse said. She looked at my face. “Are you okay?”

“Yeah, I’m fine,” I said. I guess I was tearing up. Just a little embarrassing.

“It’s okay,” she said. “I get it.”

They put the needle in the other leg and Nora screamed again, like, “What the hell? What is the matter with you people? I told you I didn’t like it!”

Whew. It was over. I held Nora, nursed her and she fell asleep in the car on the way home.  Later, on the changing table, she was back to cooing and gurgling. All was forgotten. I, however, was just a tiny bit traumatized. I hope I can get it together by the time Nora is old enough to know what’s going on. I don’t think it’s ideal to be in tears when I’m telling her “everything will be okay “and “it won’t hurt a bit.” Anyway, we got through round one.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Nora gets her 2 month vaccines

  1. Langston had to return to the hospital to get jaundice under control, and I lost it when they put the IV in him. I was ok by the two-month vaccines, but I remember how upset that first visit made me.

Leave a Reply

